Skip to content

Colorado Skills 2 Compete – Adult Literacy Meeting July 23, 2015

July 23, 2015

 Colorado Skills 2 Compete

 

 

 

Adult Literacy Coalition Meeting July 23, 2015

 

Join us for the next Skills2Compete Co Meeting

 

July 23, 2015

11:30 -1:00

789 Sherman St #300

 

Visitor Parking is in the Yellow Lot across the street- approach from 8th Ave between Grant and Sherman. Park only in the slots marked Visitors.

Otherwise there is on street metered parking up and down Sherman St.

 

A light lunch will be served.

 

Call in option:

 

712-775-7300

126862#

 

AGENDA:

 

BLU ( Business Leaders United ) initiative of National Skills Coalition- Colorado Visiit in June ………………………………………Scott Ellis

 

GED Task Force………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………Shirley Penn, Frank Waterous, Laurie Harvey et al.

 

                We have a 2016 Bill!!

 

Multi- Year Work Plan Priorities……………………………………………………………………………………………………………Group discussion

 

Certain issues seem to have emerged as priorities, but can we confirm that these , or others, should be our immediate priorities?

 

                To review our adopted multi-year work plan, click on the link below:

 

                http://cclponline.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/S2C-Key-Policy-Recommendations-R8.pdf

 

 

Updates:

 

WIOA Implementation…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Any , All

 

National Skills Coalition- State Coalition Representatives meeting Sept 24 …………………………………………………..Frank Waterous

 

Congressional / staff site visit update……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Chaer Robert

 

Consumer Information Private Trade Schools

 

 

If there is anything you would like to add to the agenda, just email me.

 

 

Chaer Robert

Manager

Family Economic Security Program

Colorado Center on Law and Policy

789 Sherman St #300

Denver, CO  80203

303-573-5669 x307

www.cclponline.org

 

 

Bell Policy

Colorado Center on Law and Policy

United Way  Steve King  National July 31  Collective Impact adult learners

Council for Adult Experiencial Learning  CAEL

 

Jim Schultz  Colorado Site for human resources

Casey O’Donnell CCLP

Laurie Harvey  CWEE 

Shirley Penn

Ledy Garcia-Eckstein on Phone from State Employment

Pete on phone

High School Equivalency Exam  making it easier to get a General Educational Development – Equivalency testing 

 

State Assembly Plans for the Future

 

National Skills Building Coalition not present this afternoon

 

Agenda for July

Carla Nugent  – business engagement  Scott reporting on what is happening

introductions

GED (General Educational Development) Task Force

Multi Year plans

 

School year

implementation

 

legislator site visits

State Coalition meeting

 

criminal record preventing people from being trained for a sepcfic job  barriers

 

Carol Peeples

 

meeting with state representatives Polis and Bennett

Emily Griffith site visit  opportunity  

First week of August meeting with  Bennett

 

Tour both Cwee and Emily Griffith having a site in the same vicinity.

Three ISSUES:  August 5 

talking points:  fact sheets available on PELL grants modernizing

on funding for work force programs

Adult Education generic skill building

don’t forget the most vulnerable

 

Sue Wyndell  now works with  – ____

 

GED TASK FORCE:  Frank and Shirley:  minutes 

Jenny Arndt:  legislative session authorize all three High School  Equivalent

3 options would be proposed

checking with the legisalative council.  require legislation or demand rule making changes

 

Paul Londine  El Paso County  broader choice  

Department of Education

 

all working together  we don’t want them as opposing legislation

 

Michelle Lui Department of Education contacts

 

RFP process state legislation liaison dept. of Education

 

request proposals from distinct companies:  Pearson Company has a Memo of Understanding

Rebecca Holmes associate commissioner not returning until September

Education of the Commission changing their protocol of how they do their work

 

the authorized test is the general education development examination by Colorado

term “GED”  (General Educational Development) was removed from all language and also because it is trade marked.  

battery of tests authorized by the State Department of Education

champion already:  Representative Arndt has a back ground in these areas.

McGraw Hill piloting a Test   paying the students $75.00  and program is being paid $10.00 for administrating the tests

TASK not giving them scores

Morgan Community College is involved in this performance test on computers

High SAT  another testing form  American Federation of Teachers is recommending the test.

 

ALL basically changing:  GED (General Educational Development) sold them the practice test and then it was changed

 

3 or 4 months training for the testing series.

preparing for the test takes a while   how long is it reasonable

 

GED take a practice test  $10.00  try it look at sample test

ask legislators to take the PARK test 

did not show the steps to arrive at the answer

There are three versions of these exams

There are students failing every day

 

CDE  Colorado Department of Education:  What’s best for students

pathways for high school equivalency –  multiple options for success

 

privileged stduents potentially have access to all the right avenues for achievement

 

Medical assistant training in Ft Collins in a school –   Does the training lead to a position in a job  and the tutition is four times as high as the community college training as a medical assistant.  IBS type of school.

 

Mandate that one can get a job related to a training program

 

Piton Self-sufficiency is covered by a grant.  They are following the Rice Foundation of liquidating all of their assets in the next two decades.

 

Three Assessments:  GED – TASC – HISET 

we don’t believe in regulations and business control of the decision-making about certificates, licensing, placement or employment

 

 

College Score Board  College Costs 

http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_28523179/colorado-ags-lawsuit-against-collegeamerica-continues

 

Ledy Garcia-Eckstein

Office of Economic Development

Division of Workforce Development

201 West Colfax Avenue, Dept 208

Denver, CO  80202

 

720 913-1622

ledy.garcia-eckstein@denvergov.org

 

 

James Schultz<schultz8101@gmail.com>to:Chaer Robert <crobert@cclponline.org>
cc:“aj@jensenpublicaffairs.com” <aj@jensenpublicaffairs.com>,
Alison Friedman <AlisonF@wfco.org>,
“andileo@earthlink.net” <andileo@earthlink.net>,
“andreag@nationalskillscoalition.org” <andreag@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
Aubrey Hasvold <ahasvold@cclponline.org>,
“ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu” <ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu>,
“Bethany@ps-s.org” <Bethany@ps-s.org>,
“Brad@coloradoimpact.org” <Brad@coloradoimpact.org>,
“BrookeD@nationalskillscoalition.org” <BrookeD@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
“bryanw@nationalskillscoalition.org” <bryanw@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
“chaerrobert@hotmail.com” <chaerrobert@hotmail.com>,
“Chriskstoneman@gmail.com” <Chriskstoneman@gmail.com>,
“chrisstoneman@gmail.com” <chrisstoneman@gmail.com>,
“Christine.Alonzo@cllaro.org” <Christine.Alonzo@cllaro.org>,
Claire Levy <clevy@cclponline.org>,
“cmarquez@micasaresourcecenter.org” <cmarquez@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“cmarquezh@micasaresourcecenter.org” <cmarquezh@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“director@wrainc.org” <director@wrainc.org>,
“dwestlund@fresc.org” <dwestlund@fresc.org>,
“eholguin@rcfdenver.org” <eholguin@rcfdenver.org>,
“emily.lesh@state.co.us” <emily.lesh@state.co.us>,
“Gallegos – CDHS, Jon” <jonl.gallegos@state.co.us>,
“geri.anderson@cccs.edu” <geri.anderson@cccs.edu>,
“ghorne@springinstitute.org” <ghorne@springinstitute.org>,
“gifforer@co.larimer.co.us” <gifforer@co.larimer.co.us>,
“gurule.dusti@dol.gov” <gurule.dusti@dol.gov>,
“hawthorn_j@cde.state.co.us” <hawthorn_j@cde.state.co.us>,
“info@womenslobbyofcolorado.org” <info@womenslobbyofcolorado.org>,
“jbarela@arapahoegov.com” <jbarela@arapahoegov.com>,
“jesse@jensenpublicaffairs.com” <jesse@jensenpublicaffairs.com>,
“jessiehl@nationalskillscoalition.org” <jessiehl@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
“jfritsch@kennethkingfoundation.org” <jfritsch@kennethkingfoundation.org>,
“Jirous, Jennifer” <Jirous_J@cde.state.co.us>,
“jodistacey33@gmail.com” <jodistacey33@gmail.com>,
“jones@thebell.org” <jones@thebell.org>,
“Josh@thelearningsource.org” <Josh@thelearningsource.org>,
Karen Stran <kstran@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“katpbennett@gmail.com” <katpbennett@gmail.com>,
Kelly Folks <kfolks@arapahoegov.com>,
Kesi Relyea <krelyea@cclponline.org>,
“Kirkpatrick_M@cde.state.co.us” <Kirkpatrick_M@cde.state.co.us>,
“KNugent@weifieldgroup.com” <KNugent@weifieldgroup.com>,
“Lauren.Victor@dhe.state.co.us” <Lauren.Victor@dhe.state.co.us>,
“Ledy.Garcia-Eckstein@denvergov.org” <Ledy.Garcia-Eckstein@denvergov.org>,
Lee Wheeler-Berliner <lee.wheeler-berliner@state.co.us>,
“lharvey@cwee.org” <lharvey@cwee.org>,
“Lisa.Martinez-Templeton@denvergov.org” <Lisa.Martinez-Templeton@denvergov.org>,
“Liu, Michelle” <Liu_M@cde.state.co.us>,
Lorena Zimmer <lorena@sparkpolicy.com>,
Luis Duarte <lduarte@garycommunity.org>,
“lynnannleonard@gmail.com” <lynnannleonard@gmail.com>,
M Barry <mbarry@garycommunity.org>,
“mallory.elizabeth86@gmail.com” <mallory.elizabeth86@gmail.com>,
Margaret Kirkpatrick <makirk@earthlink.net>,
“mgifford@agccolorado.org” <mgifford@agccolorado.org>,
Michelle Webster <mwebster@cclponline.org>,
Monica Guardiola <monica.guard11@gmail.com>,
“pecaut@bellpolicy.org” <pecaut@bellpolicy.org>,
“pmatthews007@aol.com” <pmatthews007@aol.com>,
“randleloeb@gmail.com” <randleloeb@gmail.com>,
Renee Ferrufino <ReneeF@wfco.org>,
“reppettersen@gmail.com” <reppettersen@gmail.com>,
“rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us” <rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us>,
“roweena.naidoo@unitedwaydenver.org” <roweena.naidoo@unitedwaydenver.org>,
“S. Casey O’Donnell” <codonnell@cclponline.org>,
“scott.stump@cccs.edu” <scott.stump@cccs.edu>,
“senatorrachelz@gmail.com” <senatorrachelz@gmail.com>,
Sheri Michael <sherimichael@gmail.com>,
“ShirleyPenn29@msn.com” <ShirleyPenn29@msn.com>,
“stephanie.steffens@state.co.us” <stephanie.steffens@state.co.us>,
Steve Del Castillo <Steve.DelCastillo@cllaro.org>,
“steve.king@unitedwaydenver.org” <steve.king@unitedwaydenver.org>,
“steven.allen@state.co.us” <steven.allen@state.co.us>,
Tim Gaudette <tgaudette@smallbusinessmajority.org>,
“tracey@coloradoimpact.org” <tracey@coloradoimpact.org>,
“waterous@bellpolicy.org” <waterous@bellpolicy.org>


 Thu, Jul 23, 2015  subject:Re: Skills to Compete Meeting July 23

Mayor proposed some of this educators are endorsing this for Denver City and County.

 

Higher that one goes in education the easier the program of education and development of skills.

 

One has to pass through the key hole making  it possible for those who cannot afford an education to achieve parity in opportunity to study and obtain economic success.

 

“Think Big” in Breckenridge Work Force Council and Youth Council. Steve Wright  steve.wright@state.co.us  like any state employee.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: