Skip to content

My Heart Was Broken Most of the Time I Was Here By Loved Ones and Family

July 27, 2015

My parents bought a large, framed print of Van Gogh’s purple irises early in their marriage. My mother said it was one of the first things they bought, at a time when they had very little money. That would have been around 74 years ago. The print accompanied them through their marriage and through my mother’s widowhood. I brought it to New York after her death. It is hanging now on the wall of the room where I work, faded compared with the original. I can see it now as I sit here typing. this is what my sister posted I loved that work and cherished every one of those paintings and the living room where I spent often countless hours never had a place of my own that I could have my works and love. all of it is present in my consciousness.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

