Skip to content

A Loving Companion of the Grounds Has Died This Evening We Stop to Remember Her Gift

July 28, 2015

to my son’s rabbit Peter in memory of his gentle spirit: Lael

A Loving Companion of the Grounds Has Died This Evening

We Stop to Remember Her Gift

A Eulogy for Our Beautiful Wild Rabbit

 

Our Beautiful Wild Rabbit in Memory
This night I kindle candles and say a Baruch for my friend my only companion, my sweet sweet rabbit who was caught in the fencing of the boundaries of the hedge. As I mowed the lawn and made ready to water I laid eyes on her lying still near the border caught and asphyxiated from the fencing. I wept and moaned aloud bending down to gently knead her tender body now limp and frozen in death her small face her ears her eyes dark, that once delighted me so to see her and her kin running and playing in the garden. When I watered I had to be careful not to molest them when I stopped mowing with a push mower I could not believe my eyes. she was like a velveteen rabbit that has gone home, sweet soft loving friend. I cannot tell you how much I feel for her loss suddenly my eyes fill with tears and I cannot stop remembering how I watched her grow. How I offered them all safe common ground to thrive. It is but life that swiftly passes and yet the tender mercies of the gift are almost always forgotten until it is too late. forever she resides in me and when looking at the thicket I will remember – Shalom

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

