Skip to content

I wish that you had been here when I fell and lost my way and passed out and disappeared

December 6, 2015

 “my last the very last refrain”

I wish that you had been here when I fell and lost my way and passed out and disappeared

I felt faint  my forehead was sweaty

my eyes felt blurry

I lost my balance

I tripped and fell down the bank into the recesses of the darkness

I stopped and felt my breath hoary frost on the chill air

not a sound for  miles around

the air engulfed me and whispered still

aware

and my breath was lost

 remembered that I had lost my footing

  beware  be                                      

tenuous days and nights 

tenuous life  

 you were there to offer me a hand up and reach for me in the hollow of the night

murmured softly at first  and a chorus crossed my thirsty mouth

to touch you once more

but you were gone a ghost a memory of devout l

for a place to wait and grow and hold

you disappeared like  all of my hosts from my reach and solemn gaze

fretful that you would never return

sure that this was the last refrain that I would make that you would never hear

first pleading to come home

you could not hear like a tree falling in the frozen forest

alone

unobserved

burdened

suffering no more

come hither give me your hand

hold me close

lie down with me

wrap me in your arms  make me a mantle

sway back and forth and rock me to sleep

it has been ages since I rested and I am bound for the other side of the distant shore

I can see the mist of the isle

I feel the chill engulfing me

there is no place for me here

I am not afraid anymore

refrain let me go  let me go let me go let me go let me go let me go let me go

echoing   I am still  I am going on  marching on rising on   moving on  reaching out with my hand to you to take

  leave me now

I can feel no more

I wish that you had been here when I fell and lost my way and passed out and disappeared

 

I felt faint  my forehead was sweaty

my eyes felt blurry

I lost my balance

 

I tripped and fell down the bank into the recesses of the darkness

I stopped and felt my breath hoary frost on the chill air

not a sound for  miles around

the air engulfed me and whispered still

 

aware

 

and my breath was lost

 remembered that I had lost my footing

  beware  be                                      

tenuous days and nights 

tenuous life  

 

 you were there to offer me a hand up and reach for me in the hollow of the night

 

murmured softly at first  and a chorus crossed my thirsty mouth

 

to touch you once more

 

but you were gone a ghost a memory of devout l

 

 

for a place to wait and grow and hold

 

 

you disappeared like  all of my hosts from my reach and solemn gaze

 

fretful that you would never return

 

sure that this was the last refrain that I would make that you would never hear

 

first pleading to come home

 

you could not hear like a tree falling in the frozen forest

alone

unobserved

 

burdened

 

suffering no more

come hither give me your hand

hold me close

lie down with me

 

wrap me in your arms  make me a mantle

 

sway back and forth and rock me to sleep

 

it has been ages since I rested and I am bound for the other side of the distant shore

 

 

 

 

 

I can see the mist of the isle

 

 

I feel the chill engulfing me

 

there is no place for me here

 

 

I am not afraid anymore

 

refrain let me go  let me go let me go let me go let me go let me go let me go

 

echoing   I am still  I am going on  marching on rising on   moving on  reaching out with my hand to you to take

 

  leave me now

 

I can feel no more

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

