Skip to content

DO WE TAKE SERIOUSLY OUR ROLE IN CHANGING WHAT IS BEFORE US OR ARE WE CONTENT TO BE ON THE SIDELINES?

January 19, 2016

Dr. King, “The arc of the moral universe is long but it bends towards justice”         . Amen.

“wither thou goest I will follow, Your kin shall be mine, and we will dwell together forever.”

Do we take seriously our role in changing what is before us or are we content to be on the sideline?

 

I saw amazingly a number of people act as though there was nothing happening unusual or that it was an inconvenient day  that impinged on normal business as usual.

“Is there not, too, something to the nature of whiteness in its fragility, its irreconcilability? Any group now considered white has in the past been declared non-white, and may well again. It’s an extremely tenuous construct, one which offers exclusion more readily than inclusion, so that any group that looks hard at it (the Irish, the Polish, the Italians) could be exiled from it.” 

“I think perhaps that’s a factor in the equation: don’t rock the boat for fear of being thrown overboard.”

“So true in South Africa in 2016. Important conversations on race are happening among intellectuals and the youth, but a vast mass of white people does not want to be a part of it, and many are even angry that we are speaking of race and racism at all.”

I believe that if Dr. King Jr. was here in many ways he’d chide us for being complacent and not possessing fire in the heart to bend, the arc toward justice for all”

 

most people I observed today acted as if this was another day of work – interestingly one friend of mine said that, “the display is to keep people’s hope alive.” WE live in a tormented universe that is arcing toward oblivion.

“wither thou goest I will follow, Your kin shall be mine, and we will dwell together forever.”

..”Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.

………Martin Luther King

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

