Skip to content

Skills to Compete Meeting March After the Deluge Skills 2 Compete

March 24, 2016

Skills to Compete  Meeting March  After the Deluge  Skills 2 Compete

 

Invincibles  YOUNG:   National  Access to health care   18  to 34  years of age

 

Rory  National Job Works     National Skills Coalition  Board member  youth voice

 

AGENDA   –  DO YOU DO ANYTHING WITH HOMELESS  YOUTH  –  UNDOCUMENTED CHILDREN  –  People who live in dire straits who are marginally living like Trafficked youth,  GLBTQ   issues of poverty and WORKING

 

with National   out reach  enrolling in health care coverage  enrollement

 

membership  organization   advocacy  101  young adults smart choices  share stories

 

homeless people extremely  difficult to reach  young  young  who live in families  

 

Chicago  works in shelters  join 

 

focus group based primarily

Opportunity Youth Initiatives:  Los Angeles Chicago and Houston  On the Ground

 

YOUTH VOICE NON INSTITUTIONAL

 

Colfax  Community Network

 

College Score board  right to know  getting information to students   

 

New York Office Project Program    huge issue there at LEAST

 

Trauma   Early childhood adverse Experiences   ACE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Colorado Work Force Employment Council

 

 

 

State Legislation

 

Jim   Paula NEWNESS is not a detractor  

work   opportunity  out of our scope

nothing   doesn’t  fall into the scope of our 

first step  asking questions about these prohibitions

 

relevant   specifically unnecessary barrier

most employers go through the process and then they go through your record

 

 

only     first step  until further steps occur  expectations and hopes

 

1301   tax credit specific to apprentices

keep  the bill on the list

 

1288  industry grants  300K  annually  

 

Alternatives to GED contract   something coming within a short time

 

 

 

WIOA  up date  

 

implementation of the WIOA ACT:     share different aspects:  Laura Ware,  regional  plans  state  draft   

 

Common Ground

 

STEM Careers

Sheet metal workers apprenticeships

SKILL FULL

2 pilots   Colorado and Phoenix, Az.  Middle Skill Jobs  launched their web site   wasn’t present

 

hiring people who take specialized training 

 

part of the overall  WIOA  Plan

 

what is a career pathway what is a career pathway tool  what is a system as opposed to a plan?

 

NOTES WERE CAPTURED

 

I FEEL  BLOATED

 

Rory O’Sullivan, Deputy Director of Young Invincibles-who also serves on the National Skills Coalition Board- who will talk about their work with young adults and the workforce.

Christina Postolo, also of Young Invincibles, but based here in Denver, will also join us.

 

-WIOA Implementation Update discussion

 

-CWDC Education & Training Committee report

              -We reviewed a draft of a statewide definition/explanation of the Colorado Model of Career Pathways

               to be inserted in the State WIOA Plan.  A draft as of the time of the meeting last week is attached.

 

             -Skillful – A new approach to encouraging and matchmaking on middle skills jobs in Colorado was unveiled. Draft Fact Sheet Attached.

              Here is the Denver Post article: http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_29653074/new-colorado-jobs-program-aims-to-help-middleskill-workers-get-ahead

              And Business Journal Article:  http://www.bizjournals.com/denver/news/2016/03/17/job-hunting-service-for-workers-without-degrees.html?ana=twt

 

 

-Review of State Workforce Legislation

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Also please note that Bell Policy Center is currently recruiting for a new ED. Frank asked me to pass along this notice:

 

From: Frank Waterous <waterous@bellpolicy.org>
Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2016 10:20 AM
To: Chaer Robert
Subject: Position Announcement — Bell Policy Center President

 

As you know, Wade Buchanan, the Bell’s President, recently announced that he will be leaving the Bell. We have now begun the process of looking for a new leader for our organization. Attached is the job description for the position. It can also be found on our website at http://www.bellpolicy.org/news/position-announcement-bell-president. Would you please share this through the Skills2Compete network? Also, if there is anyone that you know personally that you think would be a good fit for the job, please feel free to pass it along. Thanks so much! Best wishes,

 

 

Frank Waterous, Ph.D.  | Senior Policy Analyst  | The Bell Policy Center

Driving public policy change to help Colorado families get ahead and stay ahead.

1905 Sherman Street, Suite 900 | Denver, CO  80203  | 303.297.0456, x223

waterous@bellpolicy.org | www.bellpolicy.org | Combined Federal Campaign #48615

 

Donate today to help us expand opportunity for all Coloradans.

Join our email list for policy updates, analysis, Bell news and more!

 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

If you have additional items for the agenda, simply email me.

 

Chaer Robert

Manager

Family Economic Security Program

Colorado Center on Law and Policy

789 Sherman St #300

Denver, CO  80203

303-573-5669 x307

www.cclponline.org

 

 

From: Chaer Robert
aj@jensenpublicaffairs.com‘; Alison Friedman; ‘andileo@earthlink.net‘; Andrea Stiles Pullas; ‘andreag@nationalskillscoalition.org‘; Ashley Shaw; Aubrey Hasvold; ‘ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu‘; ‘Bethany@ps-s.org‘; ‘BrookeD@nationalskillscoalition.org‘; ‘bryanw@nationalskillscoalition.org‘; Cedric Lindsay; Chaer Robert; ‘chaerrobert@hotmail.com‘; ‘Chriskstoneman@gmail.com‘; ‘chrisstoneman@gmail.com‘; Christina Postolowski; ‘Christine.Alonzo@cllaro.org‘; Claire Levy; ‘cmarquez@micasaresourcecenter.org‘; ‘cmarquezh@micasaresourcecenter.org‘; Davis, Megan; ‘director@wrainc.org‘; ‘dwestlund@fresc.org‘; ‘eholguin@rcfdenver.org‘; ‘emily.lesh@state.co.us‘; Eric Mergens; Gallegos – CDHS, Jon; ‘geri.anderson@cccs.edu‘; ‘ghorne@springinstitute.org‘; ‘gifforer@co.larimer.co.us‘; ‘gurule.dusti@dol.gov‘; ‘info@womenslobbyofcolorado.org‘; ‘jbarela@arapahoegov.com‘; ‘jesse@jensenpublicaffairs.com‘; Jessica Cassarino; Jessie Hawthorn; ‘jessiehl@nationalskillscoalition.org‘; ‘jfritsch@kennethkingfoundation.org‘; Jirous, Jennifer; ‘jodistacey33@gmail.com‘; ‘jones@thebell.org‘; ‘Josh@thelearningsource.org‘; Karen Stran; ‘katpbennett@gmail.com‘; Kelly Folks; Kesi Relyea;kfox@micasaresourcecenter.org; ‘Kirkpatrick_M@cde.state.co.us‘; ‘KNugent@weifieldgroup.com‘; Laura Gabbay; Laura Ware; ‘Lauren.Victor@dhe.state.co.us‘; ‘Ledy.Garcia-Eckstein@denvergov.org‘; Lee Wheeler-Berliner; ‘lharvey@cwee.org‘; ‘Lisa.Martinez-Templeton@denvergov.org‘; Liu, Michelle; Lorena Zimmer; Luis Duarte; ‘lynnannleonard@gmail.com‘; M Barry; ‘mallory.elizabeth86@gmail.com‘; Margaret Kirkpatrick; ‘mgifford@agccolorado.org‘; Michelle Webster; Monica Guardiola; Paula Schriefer; ‘pecaut@bellpolicy.org‘; Petti, Anne;pmatthews@responsecapture.com; ‘pmatthews007@aol.com‘; ‘randleloeb@gmail.com‘; Renee Ferrufino; ‘reppettersen@gmail.com‘; ‘rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us‘; Rory O’sullivan; ‘roweena.naidoo@unitedwaydenver.org‘; S. Casey O’Donnell; ‘Schultz8101@gmail.com‘; ‘scott.stump@cccs.edu‘; ‘senatorrachelz@gmail.com‘; Sheri Michael; ‘ShirleyPenn29@msn.com‘; ‘stephanie.steffens@state.co.us‘; Stephen Moore; Steve Del Castillo; ‘steve.king@unitedwaydenver.org‘; ‘steven.allen@state.co.us‘; Tim Gaudette; ‘waterous@bellpolicy.org
Subject: Next Skills2Compete Meeting March 24

 

 

Rory O’Sullivan, Deputy Director of Young Invincibles-who also serves on the National Skills Coalition Board- who will talk about their work with young adults and the workforce.

Christina Postolo, also of Young Invincibles, but based here in Denver, will also join us.

 

We will also have our usually WIOA Implementation Update discussion, as well as discussing pending state legislation regarding workforce development (see attached.)

 

Also attached are Aubrey’s notes from last meeting.  Thank you Aubrey!

 

Please let me know of any additional agenda items you would like to add.

 

 

And in case you missed it, I participated in a panel for Heartland Alliance Webinar on March 3rd:  Advancing WIOA for Individuals Facing Barriers to Employment:  Perspectives on State and Local Planning

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/recording/318214431262560260

 

Abigail Hull – CDLE <abigail.hull@state.co.us>,
“aj@jensenpublicaffairs.com” <aj@jensenpublicaffairs.com>,
Alison Friedman <AlisonF@wfco.org>,
“andileo@earthlink.net” <andileo@earthlink.net>,
Andrea Stiles Pullas <astiles@micasaresourcecenter.onmicrosoft.com>,
“andreag@nationalskillscoalition.org” <andreag@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
Ashley Shaw <ashleys@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
Aubrey Hasvold <ahasvold@cclponline.org>,
“ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu” <ben.nesbitt@cccs.edu>,
“Bethany@ps-s.org” <Bethany@ps-s.org>,
“BrookeD@nationalskillscoalition.org” <BrookeD@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
“bryanw@nationalskillscoalition.org” <bryanw@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
Cedric Lindsay <clindsay@adams14.org>,
“chaerrobert@hotmail.com” <chaerrobert@hotmail.com>,
“Chriskstoneman@gmail.com” <Chriskstoneman@gmail.com>,
“chrisstoneman@gmail.com” <chrisstoneman@gmail.com>,
Christina Postolowski <christina.postolowski@younginvincibles.org>,
“Christine.Alonzo@cllaro.org” <Christine.Alonzo@cllaro.org>,
Claire Levy <clevy@cclponline.org>,
“cmarquez@micasaresourcecenter.org” <cmarquez@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“cmarquezh@micasaresourcecenter.org” <cmarquezh@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“Davis, Megan” <mdavis@bouldercounty.org>,
“director@wrainc.org” <director@wrainc.org>,
“dwestlund@fresc.org” <dwestlund@fresc.org>,
“eholguin@rcfdenver.org” <eholguin@rcfdenver.org>,
“emily.lesh@state.co.us” <emily.lesh@state.co.us>,
Eric Mergens <eric.mergens@state.co.us>,
“Gallegos – CDHS, Jon” <jonl.gallegos@state.co.us>,
“geri.anderson@cccs.edu” <geri.anderson@cccs.edu>,
“ghorne@springinstitute.org” <ghorne@springinstitute.org>,
“gifforer@co.larimer.co.us” <gifforer@co.larimer.co.us>,
“gurule.dusti@dol.gov” <gurule.dusti@dol.gov>,
“info@womenslobbyofcolorado.org” <info@womenslobbyofcolorado.org>,
“jbarela@arapahoegov.com” <jbarela@arapahoegov.com>,
“jesse@jensenpublicaffairs.com” <jesse@jensenpublicaffairs.com>,
Jessica Cassarino <jessica.cassarino@emilygriffith.edu>,
Jessie Hawthorn <jhawthorn@springinstitute.org>,
“jessiehl@nationalskillscoalition.org” <jessiehl@nationalskillscoalition.org>,
“jfritsch@kennethkingfoundation.org” <jfritsch@kennethkingfoundation.org>,
“Jirous, Jennifer” <Jirous_J@cde.state.co.us>,
“jodistacey33@gmail.com” <jodistacey33@gmail.com>,
“jones@thebell.org” <jones@thebell.org>,
“Josh@thelearningsource.org” <Josh@thelearningsource.org>,
Karen Stran <kstran@cwee.org>,
“katpbennett@gmail.com” <katpbennett@gmail.com>,
Kelly Folks <kfolks@arapahoegov.com>,
Kesi Relyea <krelyea@cclponline.org>,
“kfox@micasaresourcecenter.org” <kfox@micasaresourcecenter.org>,
“Kirkpatrick_M@cde.state.co.us” <Kirkpatrick_M@cde.state.co.us>,
“KNugent@weifieldgroup.com” <KNugent@weifieldgroup.com>,
Laura Gabbay <lgabbay@ccdconline.org>,
Laura Ware <lauraware985@gmail.com>,
“Lauren.Victor@dhe.state.co.us” <Lauren.Victor@dhe.state.co.us>,
“Ledy.Garcia-Eckstein@denvergov.org” <Ledy.Garcia-Eckstein@denvergov.org>,
Lee Wheeler-Berliner <lee.wheeler-berliner@state.co.us>,
“lharvey@cwee.org” <lharvey@cwee.org>,
“Lisa.Martinez-Templeton@denvergov.org” <Lisa.Martinez-Templeton@denvergov.org>,
“Liu, Michelle” <Liu_M@cde.state.co.us>,
Lorena Zimmer <lorena.zimmer@denverchamber.org>,
Luis Duarte <lduarte@garycommunity.org>,
“lynnannleonard@gmail.com” <lynnannleonard@gmail.com>,
M Barry <mbarry@garycommunity.org>,
“mallory.elizabeth86@gmail.com” <mallory.elizabeth86@gmail.com>,
Margaret Kirkpatrick <makirk@earthlink.net>,
“mgifford@agccolorado.org” <mgifford@agccolorado.org>,
Michelle Webster <mwebster@cclponline.org>,
Monica Guardiola <monica.guard11@gmail.com>,
Paula Schriefer <pschriefer@springinstitute.org>,
“pecaut@bellpolicy.org” <pecaut@bellpolicy.org>,
“Petti, Anne” <Anne.Petti@ccaurora.edu>,
“pmatthews@responsecapture.com” <pmatthews@responsecapture.com>,
“pmatthews007@aol.com” <pmatthews007@aol.com>,
“randleloeb@gmail.com” <randleloeb@gmail.com>,
Renee Ferrufino <ReneeF@wfco.org>,
“reppettersen@gmail.com” <reppettersen@gmail.com>,
“rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us” <rhonda.fields.house@state.co.us>,
Rory O’sullivan <rory.osullivan@younginvincibles.org>,
“roweena.naidoo@unitedwaydenver.org” <roweena.naidoo@unitedwaydenver.org>,
“S. Casey O’Donnell” <codonnell@cclponline.org>,
“Schultz8101@gmail.com” <Schultz8101@gmail.com>,
“scott.stump@cccs.edu” <scott.stump@cccs.edu>,
“senatorrachelz@gmail.com” ,
“stephanie.steffens@state.co.us” <stephanie.steffens@state.co.us>,
Stephen Moore <smoore@fresc.org>,
Steve Del Castillo <Steve.DelCastillo@cllaro.org>,
“steve.king@unitedwaydenver.org” <steve.king@unitedwaydenver.org>,
“steven.allen@state.co.us” <steven.allen@state.co.us>,
Tim Gaudette <tgaudette@smallbusinessmajority.org>,<senatorrachelz@gmail.com>,
Sheri Michael <sherimichael@gmail.com>,
“ShirleyPenn29@msn.com” <ShirleyPenn29@msn.com>
“waterous@bellpolicy.org” <waterous@bellpolicy.org>

 

 

The sun is out, and major streets are clear.

 

Yes we’re still on.

 

Remember, there is Visitor Parking in the Yellow Lot across the St in spots marked Visitor only.  The lot has been plowed. Enter from 8rth Avenue between Grant and Sherman.

 

For those who cannot safely get here, or can’t get out of your parking spot, remember there is a call in option:

 

Call  in number:  712-775-7300

                                 126862#

 

11:30-1:00.

 

I have attached an updated list of state legislation so you can follow along if you are calling in.

 

Chaer Robert

Manager

Family Economic Security Program

Colorado Center on Law and Policy

789 Sherman St #300

Denver, CO  80203

303-573-5669 x307

www.cclponline.org

 

 

 

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: