Skip to content

October 3 1879 Grandfather Rudolf – who died in 1946 father of my father 2 mensch

October 4, 2016

October 3  1879  Grandfather  Rudolf  – who died in 1946  father of my father   2 mensch

 

I may be the only person on Earth who remembers that today was my beloved grandfather Rudy’s birthday. He was born on Oct. 3, 1879 in Mutterstadt, Germany. He died of a heart attack when I was three years old in Jenkintown, Pa. I remember him well. I may be the only person still alive who remembers him. He would sit in a wing chair next to the fireplace in the living room and draw birds for me. And when he smoked a cigar, he would blow smoke rings for me so that I could catch them on my finger. And then he would give me the cigar band to wear as a ring. He listened to the Metropolitan Opera on a big wooden radio in the living room, and I listened with him. Although he was largely self educated, he loved books and amassed a big library. After his death, I would go up to the third floor of the large house where he and my grandmother lived. His books lined all the walls of one room. There, I could be with him. I could see his name inscribed in the front of his books in his beautiful handwriting — Rudolf Loeb — and I could read what he had read. It was as though he was talking to me. Happy birthday, Grandpa Rudy. I send you love.

 

 

I was born five years later than my grandfather Rudolf  but I miss him as much he was a mensch, my father’s father. You can never have enough men who are loving supportive and earnest in their love of their families.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

